November 1, 2019


The Annual Physiology and Biophysics Halloween Potluck was Spooktacular! Thank you to Leoamie Jefferson for a boo-tiful job planning fun and games and fellowship–she even brought Trick or Treaters. Adam Corken, Postdoctoral Fellow, transformed the hallway and break room in to a bone-chilling dark and creepy spider’s den to set the atmosphere. Adam was also…

October 21, 2019

Congratulations Maya Merriweather – 2019 Phillip L. Rayford Scholarship Winner

The 2019 Phillip L. Rayford Memorial Scholarship winner is Maya Merriweather. Maya received  a Bachelors in Biology from the University of Arkansas at Fayetteville in 2017. She is a member of Student Advocacy Council and is Vice President of the Edith Irby Jones Chapter of Student National Medical Association.  She is also the recipient of…

October 1, 2019

Great Job

Congratulations are in order to Pankaj Patyal who was awarded first place for his poster presentation at the Annual Meeting of the Arkansas Chapter of the Society for Neuroscience held on Sept. 30, 2019 at UAMS Donald W. Reynolds Institute on Aging. ​ The title of the presentation is “The wmN1 Enhancer Region of the Mouse Myelin Proteolipid Protein Gene (mPlp1) is Indispensable for…

Congratulations Ph.D. Candidates

Congratulations to Departmental Graduate Students Receiving White Coats Rebecca Ring, a graduate student in Dr. Maria Almeida-Schuller’s lab, Zinia D’Souza, a graduate student in Dr. Vladimir Lupashin’s lab, and Caitlin Caperton, an M.D.-Ph.D. student of Drs. Aime Franco and Jerry Ware received their white coats at the recent UAMS Graduate School’s Research Induction Ceremony. The…

August 9, 2019

Congratulations Zinia D’Souza

Zinia D'Souza

Ms. Zinia D’Souza for successfully passing her Ph.D. Qualifying Exam! This summer Zinia presented her research at the Gordon Research Conference on Molecular Membrane Biology and was selected to participate in the EMBO Practical Course on Current Methods in Cell Biology, which will take place at EMBL Heidelberg, Germany in September. She also published her…

June 26, 2019

Parimal Chowdhury, Ph.D., Retirement Reception

Dr. Chowdhury

Congratulations Dr. Chowdhury on your retirement! The department hosted a retirement ceremony on June 21, 2019.

June 5, 2019

Congratulations, Dr. Chowdhury

  Parimal Chowdhury, Ph.D., a Professor in the Department of Physiology and Biophysics, and a longtime member of the American Physiological Society was awarded APS FELLOW status by the governing board of the American Physiological Society on June 4, 2019. The rank of Fellow is an elite member status reserved to honor distinguished leaders who…

June 3, 2019

Welcome Summer Students!

This summer session, a number of our faculty are hosting undergraduate students in their laboratories to conduct research under the auspices of the INBRE and SURP Programs.  We welcome these students to UAMS and to our Department. INBRE- Richard ‘Jon’ Ward, Harding University (Dr. Rosie Simmen) SURP- Daija Green, Jackson State University (Drs. Frank Simmen…

May 8, 2019

Dr. Kurten Honored by Arkansas Children’s Ruth Olive Beall Awards

Dr. Kurten in lab

Community leaders and physicians who have advanced pediatric health care shined at Arkansas Children’s annual recognition ceremony, the Ruth Olive Beall Service Awards & Honors. Held at the Clinton Presidential Library in Little Rock, the ceremony recognized the tireless effort and dedication of physicians with signature awards. The Dr. Robert H. Fiser, Jr. Research Achievement Award:…

April 22, 2019

Symposium Presentation

Dr. Chowdhury

Parimal Chowdhury, Ph.D., a Professor in the Department of Physiology and Biophysics, and his team of collaborators that include students and faculty members from UAMS, UCA and UALR, presented five papers in 27th Annual Arkansas Space Grant Consortium Symposium held at Winthrop Rockefeller Institute in Morrilton, Arkansas on April 19, 2019. Presentations were in both…

Next page