October 21, 2019

Congratulations Maya Merriweather – 2019 Phillip L. Rayford Scholarship Winner

Maya Merriweather

Maya Merriweather – 2019 Philip Rayford Scholarship Winner

The 2019 Phillip L. Rayford Memorial Scholarship winner is Maya Merriweather. Maya received  a Bachelors in Biology from the University of Arkansas at Fayetteville in 2017. She is a member of Student Advocacy Council and is Vice President of the Edith Irby Jones Chapter of Student National Medical Association.  She is also the recipient of the 2018 AMDPA Joe Hargrove Scholarship Award.

Drs Chowdhury, Jennings, and Dudeja - with Maya.

Drs Chowdhury, Jennings, and Dudeja with Maya.





Maya is a second year medical student at the University of Arkansas Medical Sciences and has worked on a research project under the guidance of Dr. Mauricio Moreno, M.D., of the UAMS Department of Otolaryngology.   Maya’s research project includes gathering data to analyze surgical success rates and evaluating the quality of life for patients.